I robot isaac asimov book

9.62  ·  8,051 ratings  ·  887 reviews
i robot isaac asimov book

I, Robot (Robot, #0.1) by Isaac Asimov

The three laws of Robotics:
1) A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.
2) A robot must obey orders given to it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the First Law.
3) A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Law.

With these three, simple directives, Isaac Asimov changed our perception of robots forever when he formulated the laws governing their behavior. In I, Robot, Asimov chronicles the development of the robot through a series of interlinked stories: from its primitive origins in the present to its ultimate perfection in the not-so-distant future--a future in which humanity itself may be rendered obsolete.

Here are stories of robots gone mad, of mind-read robots, and robots with a sense of humor. Of robot politicians, and robots who secretly run the world--all told with the dramatic blend of science fact and science fiction that has become Asimovs trademark.
File Name: i robot isaac asimov book.zip
Size: 82161 Kb
Published 06.01.2019

I ROBOT - A BBC Radio Sci-Fi Drama

I, Robot by Isaac Asimov – review

I, Robot is a fixup novel of science fiction short stories or essays by American writer Isaac Asimov. The stories originally appeared in the American magazines Super Science Stories and Astounding Science Fiction between and and were then compiled into a book for stand-alone publication by Gnome Press in , in an initial edition of 5, copies. The stories are woven together by a framing narrative in which the fictional Dr. Susan Calvin tells each story to a reporter who serves as the narrator in the 21st century. Although the stories can be read separately, they share a theme of the interaction of humans, robots , and morality , and when combined they tell a larger story of Asimov's fictional history of robotics.

Related Articles

The Robot series is a series of 37 science fiction short stories and six novels by American writer Isaac Asimov , featuring positronic robots. Most of Asimov's robot short stories, which he began to write in , are set in the first age of positronic robotics and space exploration. The unique feature of Asimov's robots is the Three Laws of Robotics , hardwired in a robot's positronic brain , with which all robots in his fiction must comply, and which ensure that the robot does not turn against its creators. The stories were not initially conceived as a set, but rather all feature his positronic robots—indeed, there are some inconsistencies among them, especially between the short stories and the novels. They all share a theme of the interaction of humans, robots, and morality. Some of the short stories found in The Complete Robot and other anthologies appear not to be set in the same universe as the Foundation Universe. The multiple series offers a sense of completeness, because all of its works are interconnected in some way.


  1. Fran P. says:

    Top Authors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *